Beaverhead County, Montana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Beaverhead County, Montana)
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png Montana Gotoarrow.png Beaverhead County

Guide to Beaverhead County, Montana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Dillon
Organized: February 2, 1865
Parent County(s): Original county[1]
Neighboring Counties
Clark (ID)  • Deer Lodge  • Fremont (ID)  • Granite  • Lemhi (ID)  • Madison  • Ravalli  • Silver Bow
See County Maps
Courthouse
Montana BeaverheadCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Montana highlighting Beaverhead County.svg.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

Beaverhead County, in the southwestern corner of the state, was organized on February 2,1865. It was named for the rock which Sacajawea pointed out to Lewis and Clark. The county seat is now Dillon. [2]

County Courthouse

Beaverhead County Courthouse
S Pacific Cluster 3
Dillon, MT 59725
Phone: 406.683.2642
Beaverhead County Website
County Clerk has birth records from 1902, death records from 1901 and land records from 1864.
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records.[3]

Beaverhead County, Montana Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1901*
1877*
1901*
1865
1865
1865
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes


Parent County: created 2 February 1865 as an original county.
County Seat: Dillon [1]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county from Wikipedia:[4]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places
Ghost towns
  • Lion City


Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Beaverhead County, Montana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Montana Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Montana starting in 1870. For links to Federal census indexes, see the Montana Census link below.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 722
1880 2,712 275.6%
1890 4,655 71.6%
1900 5,615 20.6%
1910 6,446 14.8%
1920 7,369 14.3%
1930 6,654 −9.7%
1940 6,943 4.3%
1950 6,671 −3.9%
1960 7,194 7.8%
1970 8,187 13.8%
1980 8,186 −0.0%
1990 8,424 2.9%
2000 9,202 9.2%
2010 9,246 0.5%
Source: [1]


For tips on accessing Beaverhead County, Montana Genealogy census records online, see: Montana Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Dillon

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Beaverhead County, Montana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.

Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Beaverhead County

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

World War I

For further information see Montana Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Montana Newspapers Online

Montana Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Beaverhead County, Montana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

See also United States Obituaries for more about finding United States obituaries.


Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Beaverhead - Probate records.

School Records

Tax Records

Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Beaver Head Hunters Genealogical Society
Dillon, Montana
Monthly meetings are held from September through May on the third Tuesday at 7:00 p.m. in the Museum Research Center

Beaverhead County Genealogical Society
15 South Montana,
Dillon, MT 59725

Beaverhead County Historical Society
15 S Montana St
Dillon 59725-2433

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/mon/beaverhead/ accessed 11/15/2016
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 415.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Beaverhead County, Montana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beaverhead_County,_Montana, accessed 5 December 2016.