Beaworthy, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Beaworthy, Devon)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Beaworthy, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Beaworthy, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Black Torrington
County Devon
Poor Law Union Okehampton
Registration District Okehampton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1758
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Okehampton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History

BEAWORTHY (St. Alban), a parish, in the union of Oakhampton, hundred of Black Torrington, Black Torrington and Shebbear, and N. divisions of Devon, 10 miles (N. N. W.) from Oakhampton. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Abstracts of bishop's transcripts (1602-1630) are online at Internet Archive - free.[2]

Abstracts of bishop's transcripts (1635-1636) are online at Internet Archive - free.[2]

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Bible Christian Methodist
  • Wesleyans

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241326.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Beaworthy in GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 184-187. Date accessed: 23 July 2012.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Roger Granville and W.E. Mugford, Abstracts of the Existing Transcripts of the Lost Parish-Registers of Devon, 1596-1644 (Exeter: William Pollard and Co. Ltd., 1908). Digitised by Internet Archive.