Beckford, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Beckford, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Beckford, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Beckford, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thornbury
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Winchcombe
Registration District Winchcomb
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Campden
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

BECKFORD (St. John the Baptist), a parish,in the union of Winchcomb, partly in the hundred of Tibaldstone, and partly in the Upper division of the hundred of Tewkesbury, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 6 miles (E. N. E.) from Tewkesbury;containing the hamlets of Grafton, Bangrove, and Didcote. This parish, which comprises about 1800 acres, is situated on the road from Tewkesbury to Evesham. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Beckford, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[7]
Beckford, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
AC 1813-1868 1813-1868 1814-1868 1814-1868 1813-1868 1813-1868
BOYD
1607-1700

FHSO 1814-1836

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288779.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 188-194. Date accessed: 30 April 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813', Ancestry, accessed 16 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 24 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1938', Ancestry, accessed 20 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.
  6. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.

Add any additional sites that aren’t mentioned above.