Beckley, Buckinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Beckley, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Headington|
|Parish registers: 1703|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1678; 1721|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford|
|Location of Archive|
|Buckinghamshire Record Office|
BECKLEY, a parish partly in the hundred of Ashendon, county of Buckingham, and partly in the hundred of Bullington, County of Oxford, 4 3/4 miles (N.E.) from Oxford containing the chapelry of Studley with Horton.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
The records for this parish are located in Beckley, Oxford, England.
- Bishop Transcripts for Beckley, 1678-1851. Film number 95212 located in the FamilySearch Catalog.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 0474572. (Note this listing is under Oxford as that is the greater area for this parish.
To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.
■findmypast (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
■Ancestry.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
■The Genealogist.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
■FreeCen is a free based UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) pp. 188-194 Date accessed and adapted 23 May 2013