Beddington, Surrey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Beddington, Surrey)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Parishes

Guide to Beddington, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Beddington, Surrey
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wallington
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Croydon
Registration District Croydon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1679
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1846 - Winchester; Post-1845 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Parish History


Beddington, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

BEDDINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Croydon, Second division of the hundred of Wallington, E. division of Surrey, 1½ mile (W.) from Croydon.[1]


Church records

Beddington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Sutton Parish Registers (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5][6]
AC = London Parish Registers (Ancestry) - (£)[7][8][9][10]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[11]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[12]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[13]
SURR = Surrey Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[14]
Beddington Parish Records Online

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812
AC 1812-1915 1812-1915 1754-1940 1754-1940 1813-1905 1813-1905
AC 1679-1812 1679-1812 1679-1812 1679-1812 1679-1812 1679-1812
AC 1813-1841 1813-1841 1800-1841 1800-1841 1813-1841 1813-1841
BOYD 1538-1775
IGI 1561-1875 1800-1876
NBI 1813-1840
SURR 1538-1837

Some additional later churches built in this ancient parish include:

Hackbridge and North Beddington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Hackbridge and North Beddington Parish Records Online

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1934-1938 1934-1938

South Beddington St Michael and All Angels parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

South Beddington St Michael and All Angels Parish Records Online

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1903-1915 1903-1915 1908-1940 1908-1940

Wallington Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Wallington Holy Trinity Parish Records Online

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1868-1915 1868-1915 1868-1940 1868-1940

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474665.


Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[15]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed: 24 September 2013.
  2. 'About Sutton, Surrey, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 11 April 2016.
  3. 'About Sutton, Surrey, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1915,' Ancestry, accessed 11 April 2016.
  4. 'About Sutton, Surrey, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1940,' Ancestry, accessed 11 April 2016.
  5. 'About Sutton, Surrey, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-1985' Ancestry, accessed 11 April 2016.
  6. Reid, John D. 'Ancestry adds Sutton, Surrey records,' Canada's Anglo-Celtic Connections, 9 April 2016, http://anglo-celtic-connections.blogspot.com/2016/04/ancestry-adds-sutton-surrey-records.html, accessed 11 April 2016.
  7. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary, Beddington in Sutton Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  8. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Beddington in Sutton Borough. Partially indexed.
  9. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Beddington in Sutton Borough. Partially indexed.
  10. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Beddington in Sutton Borough. Partially indexed.
  11. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net (WayBack Machine), accessed 27 March 2012.
  12. Batches C132711, C013312, P013311, M013311, M132711, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  13. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Surrey,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 11 April 2012.
  14. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 18 September 2012.
  15. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.