Bee County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bee County, Texas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Texas
Bee County


Guide to Bee County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


TX ORP.png


Bee County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Bee County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 8, 1857
County Seat Beeville
Courthouse
Address Bee County Courthouse
105 W Corpus Christi Street
Beeville, TX 78102-5684
Phone: 361.362.3245
Bee County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today


County Information


Bee County, Texas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1903 1860 1860 1858 1859

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, probate and land records from 1858 and court
from 1876; District has divorce records[1]

County Clerk

105 W. Corpus Christi St. Rm. 103
Beeville 78102
Phone: 361-362-3245
Fax: 361-362-3247

District Clerk

P.O. Box 666
Beeville 78104
Phone: 361-362-3242

History

Parent County

1857--Bee County was created 8 December 1857 from Goliad, Karnes, Live Oak, Refugio, and San Patricio Counties.
County seat: Beeville  [2]

The county was named for Barnard E. Bee Sr., (1787-1854). Barnard E. Bee, attorney, soldier, and statesman, was born in Charleston, South Carolina, in 1787, the son of Thomas B. Bee, member of the Royal Privy Council in colonial South Carolina and of the Continental Congress, lieutenant governor of South Carolina, and justice of the United States Circuit Court of South Carolina during the administration of George Washington.

Boundary Changes

No boundary changes since the county's formation in 1857[3]

Record Loss

1888-- The second Bee County Courthouse (old courthouse), used at the time as a Masonic Lodge, burned in May 1888, nine years after it had served its usefulness as a courthouse. No record loss, as the records were safely stored in the new Courthouse that had opened in 1879.[4]

1911-- The third Bee County Courthouse, built in 1879, burned on January 15, 1911. Most of the county records were saved from the fire. [5]

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Towns and Cities: | Beeville | Normanna | Papalote

Neighboring Counties

Goliad • Karnes  • Live Oak  • Refugio • San Patricio


Error: image is invalid or non-existent< /noinclude>

Resources

African American

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
FindAGrave Family History Library FindAGrave
TX Gravestones WorldCat Tombstone Project
Billion Graves (name) Cemeteries of TX
USGW Archives Texas Cemeteries
Billion Graves (cemetery) Linkpendium
USGW Cemeteries Epodunk
D'Addezio African American Cemeteries
See Texas Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1860910
18701,08218.9%
18802,298112.4%
18903,72061.9%
19007,720107.5%
191012,09056.6%
192012,1370.4%
193015,72129.5%
194016,4814.8%
195018,17410.3%
196023,75530.7%
197022,737−4.3%
198026,03014.5%
199025,135−3.4%
200032,35928.7%
201031,861−1.5%

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.


Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Naturalization and Citizenship

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Bee County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

Maps

Txbee.jpg

Military

Mexican-American War
Civil War

Online Records

Newspapers

Off-line Newspaper Information

Online Newspapers

Online Newspaper Abstracts

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bee County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).

Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce

Societies and Libraries

South Texas Genealogical Society, Inc.
PO Box 754
Beeville, TX 78104-0754
website

Joe Barnhart Bee County Library
110 W Corpus Christi St
Beeville, TX 78102
Telephone Number: 361-362-4901
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


  • Society Hill  ~  Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bee County, Texas. Page 658 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. BEE COUNTY Handbook of Texas Online http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcb05
  4. Beeville, TX Old Courthouse &amp;amp; Masonic Lodge Fire, May 1888 at gendisasters.com http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/22094/beeville-tx-masonic-lodge-old-courthouse-fire-may-1888
  5. Beeville, TX Bee County Courthouse Fire, Jan 1911 at gendisasters.com http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/22095/beeville-tx-bee-county-courthouse-fire-jan-1911