Belford, Northumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Belford, Northumberland)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Belford, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Belford, Northumberland
St Mary's Belford Northumberland.jpg
St Mary's Belford Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bambrough; Islandshire
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Belford
Registration District Belford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1688
Bishop's Transcripts: 1760
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bamburgh
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Parish History

BELFORD (St. Mary), a parish, and the head of a union, partly in Islandshire, but chiefly in the N. division of Bambrough ward, N. division of Northumberland; comprising the townships of Delchant, Easington, Easington-Grange, Elwick, Middleton, and Ross; There are places of worship for the United Secession and Presbyterians.[1]

Additional information:

St Mary Belford was created as a chapelry in the ancient parish of Bamburgh in 1735. The parish included Detchant Easington, Easington Grange, East Grange, Elwick, Middleton and Ross.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Belford, Northumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Belford, Northumberland Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTs 1776-1858 1672-1929

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/20 1760-1868 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records; however the images for this parish have not yet been loaded to the FamilySearch Historical Records site.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

 Belford, St Mary: Records of baptisms 1701-1977, marriages 1702-1972 and burials 1701-1956 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1701-1812 and marriages 1702-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1702-1812. Transcripts of baptisms, burials and marriages 1701-1812 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

Part of the parish of Belford transferred in 1844 from "North Durham" North Durham references in the Durham Bishop’s Transcripts collection 1700-1900

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438884.


Poor Law Unions

Belford Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed: 31 July 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.