Belgium Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Belgium)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Belgium

Belgium Wiki Topics
Flag of Belgium.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Belgium Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moderator

The FamilySearch moderator for the Netherlands is Daniel Jones.

Guide to Belgium ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Country Information

Belgium is a country in Europe bordered by The Netherlands, Germany, Luxembourg, and France. The official languages are Dutch, French, and German.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Belgium Research

Links to articles on getting started with Belgium research.

Belgium Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Belgium research.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Belgium Map

West VlaanderenOost VlaanderenAntwerpenLimburgVlaams-BrabantBrabant WallonHainautLuxembourgLiègeNamurBegium provinces.png
About this image


Jurisdictions


Brussels (Bruxelles) capital region

Flanders region (five provinces) -- Dutch Speaking:

Wallonia Region (five provinces) -- French Speaking:


Note: As a result of the 1993 constitutional revision that furthered devolution into a federal state, there are now three levels of government (federal, regional, and linguistic community) with a complex division of responsibilities.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Belgium," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Belgium, accessed 4 may 2016.