Belize Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Belize)
Jump to: navigation, search

Central America Gotoarrow.pngBelize

Belize Wiki Topics
Flag of Belize.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Belize Background
Local Research Resources
The FamilySearch moderator for Belize is Dwsmith2

Guide to Belize ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Country Information

The United States of America is made up of fifty states, one federal district (District of Columbia) and five territories.

Getting Started

Getting Started with Belize Research

Links to articles on getting started with Belize research.

Belize Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Belize research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Belize Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Belize.

444px-Belize Regions map.png


Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Belize. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

Belize is divided into six districts:

The Districts are further divided into Constituencies; there are currently 31 Constituencies in Belize.  Important to note is that these Constituencies have changed very often in the past: renaming, subdividing into more Constituencies, and even changing of boundaries are common.  For example, Toledo (the Constituency) was divided into Toledo North and Toledo South in 1961; but was changed completely to Toledo East and Toledo West in 1984.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.