Belton, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Belton, Leicestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  LeicestershireGotoarrow.png  Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Belton, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Belton, Leicestershire
St John the Baptist Belton Leicestershire.jpg
St John the Baptist Belton Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Loughborough
Registration District Loughborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1578
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Akeley
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

BELTON (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Loughborough, hundred of West Goscote,N. division of the county of Leicester and contains the extra parochial liberty of Grace-Dieu. There are places of worship for Baptists and Methodists. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Belton like this:

BELTON, a parish in Loughborough district, Leicester; 4½ miles NNE of Swannington r. station, and 6 WNW of Loughborough. Its statistics include the extra-parochial tract of Grace-Dieu. There are two dissenting chapels and a Roman Catholic chapel.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Belton, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Belton, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1538-1907
1538-1907
1538-1907

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Belton Bap 1538 - 1907 Marr 1538 - 1838 (Banns to1959) Bur 1538 - 1878

In addition the Leicester and Rutland Record Office has deposited records for

Grace Dieu Roman Catholic Ba 1859-1873 & Marr 1861-1869

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438744.


Poor Law Unions

Loughborough Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 203-207. Date accessed: 16 August 2012
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 25 January 2014.