Ben Hill County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ben Hill County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia


Ben Hill County

Guide to Ben Hill County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Ben Hill County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Ben Hill County
Location in the state of Georgia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Georgia
Location of Georgia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded July 31, 1906
County Seat Fitzgerald
Courthouse
Address Ben Hill County Courthouse
111 South Sheridan Street
Fitzgerald, GA 31750
Phone: 229.426.5137
Ben Hill County Website


County Information

Ben Hill County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Ben Hill County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1906

1910
1906
1906


County Courthouse

Ben Hill County Courthouse
111 South Sheridan Street
Fitzgerald, GA 31750
Phone: 229.426.5137

County Clerk has divorce, court and land records from 1907. Probate Judge has birth, marriage, divorce, burial and probate records.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
115 South Sheridan Street
P.O. Box 1104
Fitzgerald, GA 31750
Phone: (229) 426-5135
Fax: (229) 426-5487

Probate Court of Ben Hill County
111 South Sheridan Street
Fitzgerald, GA 31750
Phone: 229-426-5137


History

Parent County

1906--Ben Hill County was created 31 July 1906 from Irwin and Wilcox Counties. County seat: Fitzgerald [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Coffee  • Irwin  • Telfair  • Turner  • Wilcox

Ben Hill CountyTurner CountyCrisp CountyWilcox CountyDooly CountyPulaski CountyDodge CountyLaurens CountyTelfair CountyWheeler CountyJeff Davis CountyCoffee CountyIrwin CountyWorth CountyMontgomery CountyTift CountyTift CountyBerrien CountyAtkinson CountyWare CountyBacon CountyGABen Hill.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
GAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
GAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Georgia Interment
Billion Graves
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Ben Hill County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gabenhill.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ben Hill County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Death
Marriage
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ben Hill County, Georgia. Page 151 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 15. At various libraries (WorldCat).
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Ben_Hill_County,_Georgia_Genealogy&oldid=2752912"