Bennington County, Vermont Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bennington County, Vermont)
Jump to: navigation, search

Guide to Bennington County, Vermont ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Vermont Gotoarrow.png Bennington County


{{{link}}}

Bennington County, Vermont
Map
Map of Vermont highlighting Bennington County
Location in the state of Vermont
Facts
Founded February 11, 1779
County Seat Bennington
Courthouse
VermontBenningtonCourthouse.jpg
Address Bennington County Courthouse
207 South Street, Bennington, VT 05201-2247
Phone: 802.447.2700


County Courthouse

Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and burial records; County Clerk has divorce records from 1899 and court records from 1861; Probate Judge has probate records.

Towns Organized before 1800:
Arlington 1761
Bennington 1749
Dorset 1761
Glastenbury 1761
Landgrove 1780
Manchester 1761
Peru 1761
Pownal 1760
Rupert 1761
Sandgate 1761
Shaftsbury 1761
Sunderland 1761
Winhall 1761 [1]

Quick Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Bennington County, Vermont

Parent County

Created 11 February 1779 from Colonial lands.[1]

Boundary Changes

  • Windham County was set off 22 February 1781.

For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities


Towns:

Extinct Town: Glastenbury (incorportation ended 1937)[2]

Neighboring Counties

Rutland | Windsor | Windham | Berkshire, Massachusetts | Franklin, Massachusetts | Rensselaer, New York | Washington, New York

Resources

Archives and Libraries

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
VTGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
VTGenWeb Archives
VTTombstone Project
VTInterment
VTGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Vermont Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Federal

1790 US Census, Bennington County, Pownal Town Transcription

State

1785

Church Records

The Churches of Pownal, Pownal Historical Society, Inc.

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

History of Bennington County, Lewis Cass Aldrich, Syracuse, NY, D. Mason & Co., Publishers, 1889.

Land and Property

Courtesy of The Pownal Historical Society, Inc.:

Maps

Bennington County

Military Records

Courtesy of Pownal Historical Society, Inc.:

Civil War

Regiments and Companies:

- 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- 4th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Company A
- 5th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Company E

Newspapers

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

There are two Bennington County Probate Districts

  • Bennington District - Bennington, Glastenbury, Pownal, Readsboro, Searsburg, Shaftsbury, Stamford and Woodford.
  • Manchester District - Arlington, Dorset, Landgrove, Manchester, Peru, Rupert, Sandgate, Sunderland and Winhall.

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Vermont, Bennington County Manchester District, Probates (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Taxation

Vital Records

Courtesy of the Pownal Historial Society, Inc.

See also How to order Vermont Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application at Vermont Department of Health

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Vermont Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical and Genealogical Societies

Historical Societies

Bennington Historical Society And Museum
75 West Main Street
Bennington, VT 05201
Phone: 802-447-1571
Website

Dorset Historical Society
PO Box 52
Main St & Rte 30
Dorset, VT 05251
Phone: 802-867-0331
Website

Landgrove Historical Society
PO Box 734
Landgrove, VT 05148
Phone: 802-824-6624

Manchester Historical Society
PO Box 363
Manchester, VT 05254
Phone: 802-362-3708
Website

North Bennington Museum and Historical Society
PO Box 536
North Bennington, VT 05257
Phone: 802-442-9193
Website

Historical Society of Peru
PO Box 73
Peru, VT 05152
Phone: 802-824-5945

Pownal Historical Society
PO Box 313
Pownal, VT 05261
Phone: 802-823-5536
Website

Readsboro Historical Society
PO Box 125
152 Glen Avenue
Readsboro, VT 05350
Phone: 802-423-5432
Website

Rupert Historical Society
PO Box 84
Rupert, VT 05768
Phone: 802-394-7864 or 802-394-7738

Russell Vermontiana Collection
Martha Canfield Library
PO Box 267
528 East Arlington Road
Arlington, VT 05250
Phone: 802-375-6153

Shaftsbury Historical Society
PO Box 401
3871 Vermont 7A
Shaftsbury, VT 05262
Phone: 802-375-6376

Stamford Historical Society
c/o Town Clerk
986 Main Road
Stamford, VT 05352
Phone: 802-694-1361

Winhall Museum
PO Box 607
Bondville, VT 05340
Phone: 802-297-2459

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 698. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 394. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.