Benwick, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Benwick, Cambridgeshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Benwick, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Benwick, Cambridgeshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Witchford
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union North Witchford
Registration District North Witchford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1851; For more records see Doddington
Bishop's Transcripts: 1851
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ely
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

BENWICK, a chapelry, in the parish of Doddington, union and hundred of North Witchford, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 8¼ miles (S. W.) from March.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Church of England: Benwick

  • Parish registers for Benwick, 1851-1876 are on FHL Film # 1040370 Items 5-12 at the Family History Library or through a Family History Center.
  • Bishop Transcripts for Benwick, 1851-1857 are on FHL Film # 1818366 at the Family History Library or through a Family History Center.

The original registers are deposited at the Cambridgeshire Record Office

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Methodist covered on Records
  • Calvinistic Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Strict Baptist
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241228.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Benwick on GENUKI


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 08 January 2014.