Berechurch, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Berechurch, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Berechurch, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Berechurch, Essex
St Michael and All Angels, Berechurch, Essex .jpg
St Michael and All Angels, Berechurch, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Colchester Borough
County Essex
Poor Law Union Colchester
Registration District Colchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1664
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Colchester
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

BERECHURCH or BERE-CHURCH (St. Michael), is a parish, in the union, and within the liberties of the borough, of Colchester, N. division of Essex, it is 2¼ miles (S. by W.) from Colchester.[1]

Also known as West Donyland St Margaret with St Michael.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Berechurch, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4][5]
Berechurch, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1539-1751
ESSEX 1664-1969 1664-1957 1664-1985
IGI 1664-1812 1664-1837
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241380.


Poor Law Unions

Colchester Poor Law Union,Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Berechurch on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: access date 7 May 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  4. Batch C035971, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  5. Batch M035971, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.