Berkswell, Warwickshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Berkswell, Warwickshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  WarwickshireGotoarrow.png  Warwickshire Parishes

Berkswell, Warwickshire
St John the Baptist Berkswell Warwickshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hemlingford
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Meriden
Registration District Meridan
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1665
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arden
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History

Berkeswell St John the Baptist is an Ancient parish in Warwickshire; the chapelry of Barston, Warwickshire was formed from the parish.

Berkswell, or Berkswell, is a parish in Meriden district, Warwickshire; it is on the Birmingham and Stafford railway, 6 miles W of Coventry. It has a station on the railway, and the post office is under Coventry.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Berkswell, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3]
Berkswell, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1850-1910 1850-1910 1825-1910 1825-1910

Bishop's Transcripts deposited at the Lichfield Record Office Bap 1665-1836 Marr 1665-1836 Bur 1665-1836

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464171.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. (John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted. Date Accessed November 21, 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 26 August 2014.