Bermuda Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bermuda)
Jump to: navigation, search

North AmericaGotoarrow.png Bermuda

Bermuda Wiki Topics
Flag of Bermuda.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Bermuda Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Bermuda ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Country Information

Bermuda is a British Overseas Territory located about 640 miles east southeast of Cape Hatteras, North Carolina in the Atlantic Ocean. The official language is English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Bermuda Research

Links to articles on getting started with Bermuda research.

See More Research Strategies

Bermuda Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Bermuda research.

See More Research Tools

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Bermuda Map



Bermuda has 9 parishes and 2 municipalities*

More Bermuda Research Strategies

Research strategies give guidance on how to research or what records to search for first. Below are additional research strategy Wiki articles for Bermuda.

  • Mercer, Julia E. Bermuda Settlers of the 17th Century; Genealogical Notes from Bermuda. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1982. FHL INTL Book 972.99 D2mj. Includes parish registers, wills, and deeds.[2]

More Bermuda Research Tools

Research tools can include resources that assist in locating correct records to search and determining the correct locality to search in. Below are links and Wiki articles to research tools in Bermuda.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Bermuda," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,, accessed 4 May 2016.
  2. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Bermuda Settlers of the 17th Century," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 26, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1982):232. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 26 (1982).