Berwick upon Tweed Holy Trinity, Northumberland Genealogy
Guide to Berwick upon Tweed Holy Trinity, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Berwick upon Tweed Holy Trinity, Northumberland|
Church of the Holy Trinity Berwick upon Tweed
|Poor Law Union||Berwick|
|Parish registers: 1572|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1764|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Northumberland Record Office|
BERWICK-UPON-TWEED (Holy Trinity), a port, borough, market-town,parish, and county of itself, and the head of a union, 64 miles (N. by W.) from Newcastle-upon-Tyne, and 334 (N. by W.) from London. There are places of worship for members of the Scottish Kirk, the Associate Synod, the Scottish Relief, Particular Baptists, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Berwick upon Tweed Holy Trinity, Northumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS PRs = FamilySearch Parish Registers - free|
|PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free|
|Berwick upon Tweed Holy Trinity, Northumberland Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/25 March 1764-1840 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records; however the images of the parish transcripts have not yet been loaded.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
Berwick, Holy Trinity: Records of baptisms 1574-1972, marriages 1572-1992 and burials 1572-1915 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Baptisms 1574-1924, marriages 1572-1932 and burials 1572-1915 can also be seen at Berwick Record Office. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1574-1812 and marriages 1695-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1572-1812 and banns 1776-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1574-1812, marriages 1572-1812 and burials 1574-1812 for Berwick are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. and Gateshead Central Library, Local Studies Dept. has transcripts covering baptisms 1574-1700 and marriages 1572-1812.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438897.
Genealogy From Periodicals
History of the family of Richard and Eleanor Short of Newham, in Northumberland. Family also came from Berwick on Tweed, and Penshaw in Durham. Article dated 1861-2005, and has a facsimilie of The Parade, Berwick, where one of the ancestors lived. Trainer is another surname mentioned. Article in The Northumberland Durham Family History Society Journal, vol. 31,no.1, pages6-7, Family History Library Reference. 942.8 B2jo v.31.no.1. Spring 2006.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.