Bethania, Ceredigion

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bethania, Cardiganshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngBethania

A guide to genealogy in Bethania, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Bethania is a hamlet, in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1874 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

History

For more information on Bethania see:

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Cardiganshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Ceredigion

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.

  • FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
  • findmypast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.



Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites