Bettisfield, Wrexham

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search


A guide to genealogy in Bettisfield, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Bettisfield (Welsh: Llys Bedydd) is a village and ecclesiastical parish in the County Borough of Wrexham, Wales. It is in the community of Maelor South.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Flintshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern County Borough of Wrexham.

Eglwys llys bedydd.png


The village takes it's name from Beda's Field but the identity of Beda remains unknown.

It was part of the Maelor Saesneg (the English-speaking Maelor) in the hundred of Maelor.

Bettisfield originally formed part of the ancient parish of Hanmer and later the new parish of Bronington. It became a separate parish in 1880.


Years County
until 1284 Powys Fadog
before 31 March 1974 Flintshire (detached)
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 County of Clwyd
from 1 April 1996, Wrexham

Church Records

No parish registers or Bishop's Transcripts have been deposited for Bettisfield.

Civil Records

Births, marriages and deaths in Bettisfield are recorded in the GRO indexes as:

Years Sub-district District Volumes
1 Jul 1837 - 31 Sep 1935 Hanmer Ellesmere XVIII (1837-1851)
6a (1851-1930)
1 Oct 1935 - 31 Dec 1953 Overton 11b (1935-1946)
8A (1946-1953)
1 Jan 1954 - 1954 Maelor 8A (1954-1974)

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464323.

Poor Law Union

Bettisfield became part of the Ellesmere Union when it was created on 14 November 1836. The workhouse was built in Haughton, Ellesmere. The records for the Ellesmere Union are held at Shropshire Record Office in Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England.

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites