Bewcastle, Cumberland Genealogy
Guide to Bewcastle, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Longtown|
|Parish registers: 1737|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1665|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
BEWCASTLE (St. Cuthbert), a parish, in the union of Longtown, Eskdale ward, E. division of Cumberland, 10 miles (N. N. E.) from Brampton. There is a place of worship for Presbyterians.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Parish registers for Bewcastle, 1737-1977 at the FHL
Bishop's transcripts for Bewcastle, 1665-1894 at the FHL
Presbyterian - Births and baptisms, 1788-1838 Scots Presbyterian Church at FHL
- Church of Scotland/Scottish Presbyterian
- Presbyterian Church in England
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241281.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Bewcastle on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed and adapted 18 July 2013.