Bickerton, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Bickerton, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Holy Trinity Church, Bickerton, Cheshire, England
|Poor Law Union||Nantwich|
|Parish registers: 1847|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1847|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
BICKERTON, is a township and a chapelry in Malpas parish, Cheshire. The township lies 4 miles S of Beeston railway station, and 5 NE of Malpas; and has a post office under Whitchurch. The chapelry is more extensive than the township; and was constituted in 1843.
Bickerton Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1840 from Malpas, Cheshire Ancient Parish.Other places in the parish include: Broxton, Bulkeley, Duckington, Egerton, and Larkton.
Bickerton is a village and civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire East and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England, about eight miles (13 km) north of Whitchurch in Shropshire. The parish also includes the small settlement of Gallantry Bank. Bickerton appears in the Domesday survey as Bicretone. It was owned by Drogo from Robert FitzHugh, baron of Malpas, and was found waste at the time of the survey. Woodland extending to half a league (about ¾ mile) was recorded. The name is Anglo-Saxon in origin, and relates to bees.
Holy Trinity Church, Bickerton stands to the north of the village of Bickerton, Cheshire, England The church is a Grade II listed building. It is an active Anglican parish church in the diocese of Chester, the archdeaconry of Chester, and the deanery of Malpas. Its benefice is combined with those of St Wenefrede's Church, Bickley , St John's Church, Burwardsley, Cheshire and All Saints Church, Harthill, Cheshire.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241232.
Bickerton Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Bickerton Holy Trinity Parish (1834) Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1834-1909
|FS BT'S||1855-1909|| NONE
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Here is a list of Bickerton parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
Parish registers, Cheshire Record Office call no.: P227/1/1-3, P227/2/1, P227/3-4.
|Parish registers of Bickerton, 1847-1960||Film|
|Baptisms,1847-1960. Marriages, 1868-1952. Marriage banns, 1868-1950. Burials, 1847-1948.||2105696 Items 4 - 9|
Bishop's transcripts Cheshire Record Office: EDB 23
|Bishop's transcripts for Bickerton, 1847-1910||Film|
| Baptisms, burials, 1847, 1855-1879, burials, 1880, marriages, 1880, 1879, baptisms, burials, 1880-1881, baptisms, 1882-1888, baptisms, burials, 1889, baptisms, 1890-1903.
|| 1595462 Item 7|
|Baptisms, 1901-1907, 1909-1910.||1647364 Item 1|
Non Conformist Churches
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
- Nantwich (1837–1937)
- Crewe (1937–74)
- Congleton & Crewe (1974–88)
- South Cheshire (1988–98)
- Cheshire Central (post 1998)
Poor Law Unions
Whitchurch Incorporation Poor Law Union, Shropshire Duckington and Larkton
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Bickerton on GENUKI
- John Marius Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 2 February 2013.