Bideford, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bideford, Devon)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.png DevonGotoarrow.pngDevon Parishes

Guide to Bideford, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bideford, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shebbear
County Devon
Poor Law Union Bideford
Registration District Bideford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hartland
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History

BIDEFORD (St. Mary),a sea-port, incorporated market-town, and parish, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Shebbear, Great Torrington and N. divisions of Devon, 39 miles (N. W. by W.) from Exeter. The weaving of silk was introduced in 1650, and after the revocation of the edict of Nantes, in 1685, many French Protestants settled in the town. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bideford, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Bideford, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1561-1812
1561-1812


Non-Conformist Churches
  • Bible Christian Methodist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Particular Baptist
  • Presbyterian
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241320.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Bideford on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 233-237. Date accessed: 24 October 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.