Biel parish, Bern, Switzerland

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngBern Gotoarrow.png Biel parish

Guide to Biel parish, Bern, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Biel/Bienne

Surrounding Parishes

Collections

Church Records: Evangelisch-Reformierte

(see here for an article describing the Bern Church records)

The parish registers for Biel/Bienne were recorded in the following volumes, as numbered by the Cantonal Archive of Bern:

Baptisms
Volume Description Time period Link to records Index Film
K1 Taufrodel 1 1578-1622 here
K2 Taufrodel 2 1622-1733 here
K3 Taufrodel 3 1733-1783 here
K4 Taufrodel 4 1784-1798 here
K5 Taufrodel 5 1798-1816 here
K6 Taufrodel 6 1816-1828 here
K7 Taufrodel 7 1829-1847 here
K8 Taufrodel 8 1848-1865 here
K9 Taufrodel 9 1865-1873 here
K10 Taufrodel 10 1874-1875 here
K17 Geburtsregister 1 1860-1873 here
K18 Geburtsregister 2 1872-1876 here
K19 Taufrodel 11 auswärts Getaufte 1827-1877 here
Marriages
Volume Description Time period Link to records Index Film
K1 Eherodel 1 1606-1652 here
K2 Eherodel 2 1653-1739 here
K3 Eherodel 3 1739-1783 here
K4 Eherodel 4 1784-1798 here
K5 Eherodel 5 1798-1816 here
K11 Eherodel 6 1816-1844 here
K12 Eherodel 7 1844-1867 here
K13 Eherodel 8 1867-1875 here
Burials
Volume Description Time period Link to records Index Film
K2 Totenrodel 1 1621-1739 here
K3 Totenrodel 2 1739-1783 here
K4 Totenrodel 3 1784-1798 here
K5 Totenrodel 4 1798-1816 here
K14 Totenrodel 5 1816-1839 here
K15 Totenrodel 6 1840-1870 here
K16 Totenrodel 7 1870-1875 here
Miscellaneous
Volume Description Time period Link to records Index Film
K3 Admissionsrodel 1752-1783 here
K4 Admissionsrodel 1784-1798 here
K5 Admissionsrodel 1798-1815 here

Church Records: Catholic

Baptisms
Volume Description Time period Link to records Index Film
K38 Taufrodel 12 1865-1873 here
K38 Taufrodel 12 Beiheft im Taufregister 1858-1865 here
K42 Taufrodel 13 1873-1875 here
Marriages
Volume Description Time period Link to records Index Film
K39 Eherodel 9 1865-1873 here
K39 Eherodel 9 Beiheft im Eheregister 1859-1865 here
K41 Eherodel 10 Verkündregister 1873-1875 here
K42 Eheregister 11 1873-1875 here
Burials
Volume Description Time period Link to records Index Film
K42 Totenrodel 8 Sterberegister 1873-1875 here

Church Records: French Reformed

Baptisms
Volume Description Time period Link to records Index Film
K43 Registre de baptêmes 1 1798-1830 here
K44 Registre de baptêmes 2 1798-1870 here
K45 Registre de baptêmes 3 1870-1875 here
Marriages
Volume Description Time period Link to records Index Film
K43 Registre de mariages 1 1782-1830 here
K46 Registre de mariages 2 1782-1860 here
K47 Registre de mariages 3 1860-1875 here
K48 Registre des annonces de mariage 1838-1857 here
K49 Registre des annonces de mariage 1857-1872 here
K50 Registre des annonces de mariage 1872-1875 here
Burials
Volume Description Time period Link to records Index Film
K51 Registre de décès 1 1798-1875 here
K52 Registre de décès 2 1875-1876 here
K53 Registre de décès (Répetoire) 1798-1830 here
Miscellaneous
Volume Description Time period Link to records Index Film
K53 Registre de catéchumènes 1785-1832 here

Civil Records

Volume Description Time period Link to records Index Film
K22 Actes civils 1 1799 here
K23 Actes civils 2 1800 here
K24 Actes civils 3 1801 here
K25 Actes civils 4 1802 here
K26 Actes civils 5 1803 here
K27 Actes civils 6 1804 here
K28 Actes civils 7 1805 here
K29 Actes civils 8 1806-1807 here
K30 Actes civils 9 1807 here
K31 Actes civils 10 1808 here
K32 Actes civils 11 1809 here
K33 Actes civils 12 1810 here
K34 Actes civils 13 1811 here
K35 Actes civils 14 1812 here
K36 Actes civils 15 1813 here
K37 Actes civils, publications des mariages 1798-1806 here

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Biel/Bienne families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Biel/Bienne prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Bern

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland