Bilborough with Strelley, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Bilborough with Strelley, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Bilborough with Strelley, Nottinghamshire|
Strelley All Saints Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Basford|
|Parish registers: 1569; Separate registers exist for Strelley beginning 1654|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1626; Separate records exist for Strelley beginning 1626|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
BILBOROUGH (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Basford, S. division of the wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 4 miles (W. N. W.) from Nottingham. The hamlet of Broxtow, in the parish, was once a place of considerable importance. 
Bilborough with Strelley Ecclesiastical parish was formed in 1838 from Bilborough Ancient parish and Strelley Ancient parish and included Broxtow (sometimes Broxtowe).
The church of All Saints Main Street Strelley dates from the 13th century and was restored in 1850 and 1895 and has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage. British listed building Th church was much loved by Nikolaus Pevsner in his history of Nottinghamshire buildings and described as the most important church building to the west of Nottingham.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district
Bilborough with Strelley, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Bilborough with Strelley, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Bilborough St Martin
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1569-1956 Marriages 1569-1957 Burials 1571-1901 Bishop's Transcripts 1626-1847
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Inhabitants of Bilborough at 31 January 1815. Gives surname, and forename of head of household and number of males, females. Original at Nottinghamshire Archives DD.E 14/75/1,2 transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 105, page 34, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..