Birdbrook, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Birdbrook, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.pngEssex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Birdbrook, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Birdbrook, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hinckford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Risbridge
Registration District Risbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1633
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1801
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Yeldham
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

BIRDBROOK (St. Augustine), is a parish, in the union of Risbridge, the hundred of Hinckford, and N. division of Essex, it is 7 miles (N. W.) from Castle Hedingham. This parish, is separated from the county of Suffolk by the river Stour.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Birdbrook Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1633
1633
1633
Images 1633-1874 EssexAncestors[2] 1633-1904 EssexAncestors[2] 1633-1836 EssexAncestors[2]
Indexes 1633-1783 FreeREG[3] 1633-1653
1662-1754
FreeREG[3] 1633-1783 FreeREG[3]
1633-1836 findmypast[4] 1633-1812 findmypast[5]
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241369.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Birdbrook on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted access date 7 May 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 15 April 2012.
  4. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.