Birmingham St Paul, Warwickshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England  Gotoarrow.png  Warwickshire Gotoarrow.png  Warwickshire Parishes
Birmingham St Paul, Warwickshire
St Paul Birmingham Warwickshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Birmingham
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Birmingham
Registration District Birmingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1779
Bishop's Transcripts: 1779
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arden
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History

Birmingham St Paul is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Warwickshire, created in 1778 from Birmingham St Martin, Warwickshire Ancient Parish.[1]

See also Birmingham St Martin for a "Comprehensive list of Birmingham Parishes and Chapels" or, "Church Records" below.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

See also A Comprehensive List of Birmingham Parishes and Chapels for details of microfim for this parish.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop's Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records



Poor Law Unions

Birmingham Poor Law Union, Warwickshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 255-263. Date accessed: 25 Nov 2013.