Birstall, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Birstall, Leicestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Leicestershire
Leicestershire Parishes
Birstall
Guide to Birstall, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Birstall, Leicestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Barrow upon Soar
Registration District Barrow upon Soar
Records begin
Parish registers: 1574; For more records see Belgrave
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Goscote
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

BIRSTAL, a chapelry, in the parish of Belgrave, union of Barrow-Upon-Soar, hundred of West Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 3 miles(N. by E.) from Leicester.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Birstall, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[3]
Birstall, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1574-1910
1574-1910
1574-1910
TGEN 1565-1619

1562

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Birstall Bap 1574 - 1964 Marr 1574 - 1984 (Banns to1942) Bur 1574 - 1971

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438744.


Poor Law Unions

Barrow upon Soar Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 263-267. Date accessed: 16 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 25 January 2014.
  3. 'Leicestershire Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 10 March 2012.