Bishop Middleham, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Bishop Middleham, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Bishop Middleham, Durham|
|Poor Law Union||Chester le Street|
|Registration District||Chester le Street|
|Parish registers: 1850|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Rural Deanery||Chester le Street|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
MIDDLEHAM, BISHOP'S (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Sedgefield, N. E. division of Stockton ward, S. division of the county of Durham; an ancient parish and there are records of a church in 1146 being presented to the prior and convent of Durham by Osbert, nephew of Bishop Flambard. St Michael's church dates from 1230. 
In 1865, a chapelry district was commissioned and a chapel of ease was built by 1868, which stood within the ancient parish
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Bishop Middleham, Durham Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|BISHOP MIDDLEHAM PARISH Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/32 Date: 1769-1867 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The parish register transcript images have not yet been loaded and await engineering.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
The Parish Registers for the period 1559-1957 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/BM).
FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Non Conformist Churches
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241356.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Bishop Middleham in GENUKI