Bishop Norton with Atterby, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Bishop Norton with Atterby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bishop Norton with Atterby, Lincolnshire
Bishop Norton St Peter Lincolnshire.jpg
Bishop Norton St Peter Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Aslacoe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Caistor
Registration District Caistor
Records begin
Parish registers: 1587
Bishop's Transcripts: 1578
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aslacoe
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Bishop Norton; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

BISHOP NORTON (St. Peter), a parish, formerly in the union of Caistor, E. division of the wapentake of Aslacoe, West Riding of the parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 10 miles (W. N. W.) from Market-Rasen. The village and civil parish in the West Lindsey district of Lincolnshire are about 9 miles west of Market Rasen and neighbours the hamlet of Atterby. The ancient church of Bishop Norton St. Peter includes Atterby, Spittal in the Street and Crossholme within the boundary of the parish. There was a place of worship for Primitive Methodists and for Wesleyans. The church of St Peter has been designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage. It is of a very ancient foundation. The current building dates from 1737 with 19th century extension and restoration. There are elements of the more ancient structures within the current building.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Market Rasen sub-district of Caistor registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Bishop Norton Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Norton, Bishop with Atterby


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438767.

Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Caistor Poor Law Union,Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/BishopNorton/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 442-446. Date accessed: 09 August 2013.