Bishopston, Warwichshire

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png WarwickshireGotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Bishopston, Warwichshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barlichway
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Stratford on Avon
Registration District Stratford on Avon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1590
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kineton
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Stratford upon Avon
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History

Bishopston, is a chapelry, in the parish of Old Stratford, Stratford division of the hundred of Barlichway, Warwickshire, it is 2¼ miles N N W from Stratford.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bishopston, Warwichshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2]
Bishopston, Warwichshire Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1590-1748 1590-1748 1590-1748 1590-1748 1590-1748 1590-1748

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 20 November 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2014.