Bishopwearmouth St Thomas, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Bishopwearmouth St Thomas, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bishopwearmouth St Thomas, Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Easington; Sunderland Town
County Durham
Poor Law Union Sunderland
Registration District Easington; Houghton le Spring; Sunderland
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Easington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

WEARMOUTH (Bishop)( St Thomas), a township and two sub-districts in Sunderland district, and a parish partly also in Easington and Houghton-le-Spring districts, Durham. The township lies on the coast, at the mouth of the river Wear; includes a large portion of Sunderland town; and is all within Sunderland borough. The parish contains also Burdon and Silksworth townships; and is ecclesiastically cut into the sections of B.-W., B.-W.-St. Thomas, B.-W. St. Peter, Ford, Deptford, Ryhope, Hendon, Silksworth, Millfield, and Pullion.[1]

Bishopwearmouth St Thomas was created as a parish in 1844 from parts of the neighbouring parishes of Bishopwearmouth St Michael, Bishopswearmouth St Peter, Hendon St Paul, Monkswearmouth St Cuthbert, Monkwearmouth Venerable Bede and Sunderland Holy Trinity.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/35 Date: November 1846-1849  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The images have not yet been loaded and await engineering.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1846-1943 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/SU/STh). 

The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Sunderland are also available at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL:-

  •  Deptford 1845-1948 (EP/Su.SA & EP/BiW).
  •  Grangetown 1907-1981 (EP/Gra).
  •  Hendon, St. Ignatius 1889-1968 (EP/SuSIg).
  •  Hendon, St. Paul 1852-1969 (EP/Su.SPa).
  •  Middle Hendon 1876-1967 (EP/Su.SB).
  •  Pallion, St. Luke 1869-1975 (EP/Pa)

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241353.


Poor Law Unions

Sunderland Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bishopwearmouth St Thomas on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.