Bisley, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bisley, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Bisley, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bisley, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bisley
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Stroud
Registration District Stroud
Records begin
Parish registers: 1547
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stonehouse
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

BISLEY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Stroud, hundred of Bisley, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 4 miles (E. N. E.) from Stroud, and 11(S. E.) from Gloucester. There are places of worship for Independents, Baptists, and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bisley, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[6]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[7]

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]

BISLEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1547-1812 1547-1812 1547-1753 1547-1753 1547-1812 1547-1812
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1754-1938 1754-1938 1813-1988 1813-1988
BOYD 1704-1816
FHSO 1800-1837
FREG 1800-1837
IGI 1572-1674 to 1672

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288762.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

Add any additional sites that aren't mentioned above.


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 267-270. Date accessed: 07 May 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 24 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 22 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 5 July 2016.
  6. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  7. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
  8. Wallis, Hugh. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Gloucester (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 June 2016.
  9. 'Subsidy Roll for Bisley, 1600,' in Beaver H. Blacker, ed., Gloucestershire Notes and Queries, Vol. 3 (1887):5-6. Digitised by Internet Archive - free.