Bitton, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bitton, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Bitton, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bitton, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Langley and Swinehead
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Keynsham
Registration District Keynsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1571
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hawkesbury
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

BITTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Keynsham, Upper division of the hundred of Langley and Swinehead, W. division of the county of Gloucester. containing the chapelries of Hanham and Oldland, and the district of Kingswood, and hamlet of Bitton, 6¼ miles(E. S. E.) from Bristol. This parish is bounded on the south by the river Avon.There are separate incumbencies at Hanham and Kingswood; a chapel of ease at Oldland; and places of worship for Independents, Moravians, and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bitton St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[6]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk - free
IARC = Internet Archive - free[7]
Bitton St Mary Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1813-1855 1813-1855 1813-1855 1813-1855 1813-1855 1813-1855
BOYD 1571-1813
FREG 1572-1674 1571-1674 1572-1669
IARC 1572-1674 1572-1668 1571-1674

Bitton Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Bitton Holy Trinity Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1829-1847 1829-1847 1834-1855 1834-1855 1834-1847 1834-1847

Hanham chapelry

Main article: Hanham, Gloucestershire Genealogy


Oldland chapelry

Main article: Oldland, Gloucestershire Genealogy


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288773.


Poor Law Unions

Keynsham Poor Law Union, Somerset

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 267-270. Date accessed: 07 May 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1938', Ancestry, accessed 21 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 24 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1938', Ancestry, accessed 20 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 5 July 2016.
  6. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  7. P.W.P. Carlyon-Britton, The Registers of Bitton, Co. Gloucester (London: Parish Register Society, 1900). Digitised by Internet Archive - free.