Bjelland, Vest-Agder, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Bjelland, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Microfilms are available at the Family History Library.
Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet.
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete. Original manuscript on microfilm.
This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete. Original manuscript on microfilm.
- 1663-1666: Manntall 1663-66 for Lister prosti II Database at Digitalarkivet.
The 1801 census (b. 35) for Bjelland clerical district includes Bjelland, Grindheim, and Finsland parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. Original manuscript on microfilm.
- 1801: 1801-telling for 1024 Bielland Database at Digitalarkivet.
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Original manuscript on microfilm.
- 1865: 1865-telling for 1024 Bjelland Database at Digitalarkivet.
This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscript on microfilm.
This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscript on microfilm.
- 1900: 1900-telling for 1024 Bjelland og Grinnem Database at Digitalarkivet.
- 1910: Folketellingen 1910 Database at Digitalarkivet.
The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:
35 Aagedal ytre 36 Aagedalstranden 64 Aasan 49 Apaasæ nedre 76 Ask 46 Bjærland 66 Breilien med Fidjaasen 69 Eivenstad 81 Eldhusdalen 61 Foss 51 Gjemlestad 53 Haraldstad øvre 71 Haugland 54 Haukenes 52 Hellaasen 56 Hessaa 55 Homme ytre 62 Homme øvre 74 Kaaland 40 Kisland 42 Langaasen 78 Li 37 Linland 70 Lisletten 39 Midbø 47 Mindrebø 50 Moland øvre 38 Naastad 58 Præstegaarden 76 Refsal 68 Roland 43 Rosseland 44 Rudlend 45 Røinesdal øvre 59 Skjeggestad 41 Solbjør 35 Støen 77 Sundbø 60 Sundet lille 73 Sølvskaret 35 Teinevolden 56 Tjelland 80 Tjelland 74 Toften 57 Trygsland 79 Tveresland 72 Tønesland 65 Uredalen 67 Valebrokken 76 Vestgaarden 36 Vollan 75 Ødegaarden 63 Øvrebø
The farm names listed in Bjelland I Gards- og Ættesoge in 1965 were as follows:
Aasan, Apaasæ øvre, Apaasæ nedre, Ask, Askedalen, Aust Der, Austjordet, Bakkan, Bergan, Bitemonen, Bjelland, Bjelland sentrum, Bjelland skule, Bjenndalen, Bjærland, Bjønnejordet, Bjønnevollen, Bjørketun, Borte Der, Breilid, Brokka, Broneset, Daland, Der Aust, Der Brote, Der Heima, Der Heime, Der Nede, Der Nord, Der Nore, Der Oppe, Der Ute, Der Vest, Eivindstad, Eldhusdalen, Fjellheim, Flot, Foss, Fyllstean, Førekleiv, Gislebruket, Gjemlestad, Grovan, Gryteng, Gåsøystykket, Hagen, Heraldstad, Haugan, Haugen, Haugen under, Haugland, Hauglandsskaret, Haukeneset, Hefteli, Heia, Heima Der, Heime Der, Hellaasen, Heradshuset Nordmo, Hesså, Hola, Homme øvre, Homme ytre, Hommen, Homvollen, Huset, Hæstad, Høuan, Høuen, Kaddansmyra, Kavfossen, Kiddelsbruket, Kisland, Kjerringneset, Kleivan, Klokkargarden, Klyva, Koland, Kosåna, Langdølæ, Langhaugen, Langåsen, Laubakken, Leite, Li, Lia, Lian, Lille Sundet, Lindland, Lisletten, Lislevollen, Lunden, Lundevollen, Løbrotet, Madsbruket, Midbø, Midgarden, Midtgarden, Mindrebø, Moland, Monan, Monen, Nede Der, Nede Flot, Nedre Apaasæ, Nedre Vollen, Nedregarden, Nereheia, Nerigarden, Nord Der, Norgard, Nordgarden, Nordheim, Nordmo Heradshuset, Nore Der, Nyvold, Nyvoll, Nåstad, Olmyr, Oppe Der, Oppe Flot, Peder Hougland, Prestegarden, Pytten, Refsal, Roland, Rosseland, Rusehuset, Rydlende, Rødningen, Røyjordet, Røynesdal øvre, Sanden, Sentrum, Sigmundsbruket, Skaddan, Skeibrok, Skjeggestad, Skogly, Skogsmo, Sletebrokka, Sleten, Sletta, Slottet, Solbakken, Solberg, Solborg, Stavdalen, Stean, Stedalen, Stedjan, Stivlia, Storevollen, Støa, Støyltun, Sundbø, Sundet, Sundet Lille, Sølvskaret, Sørmo, Tjelland, Trygsland, Trygsland østre, Trygsland vestre, Tuften, Tungefossen, Tupten, Tversland, Tønesland, Under Haugen, Urdalen, Ute Der, Valebrokken, Vest Der, Veste Der, Vestheim, Vester Trygsland, Vestskogen, Vollan, Vollen, Vollen nedre, Ytre Homme, Ytre Ågedal, Ødegaarden, Østre Trygsland, Øvre Apaasæ, Øvre Homme, Øvre Røynesdal, Øvrebø, Øvregarden, Øvrevold, Ågedal, Ågedal ytre, Ågedalstrand, Åsdølsbakken, Åsen,
Lyngdal judical district
Breilid, Magnus. Bjelland I Gards- og Ættesoge. Mandal: Fr. Salvesens Trykkeri, 1965