Blaine County, Montana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Blaine County, Montana)
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png Montana Gotoarrow.png Blaine County

Guide to Blaine County, Montana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Chinook
Organized: February 29, 1912
Parent County(s): Chouteau [1]
Neighboring Counties
Chouteau  • Fergus  • Hill  • Phillips  • Saskatchewan, Canada
See County Maps
Courthouse
MontanaBlaineCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Montana highlighting Blaine County.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

Blaine County was formed in 1912. The county seat is Chinook. [2] The county was named in honor of James G. Blaine, former United States Secretary of State. The state is located in the north central area of the state. [3]

County Courthouse

Blaine County Courthouse
400 Ohio Street
Chinook, MT 59523
Phone: 406.357.3240
Blaine County Website
County Clerk has birth, death and land records from 1912.
Clerk of the District Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records.[4]

Blaine County, Montana Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1907*
1912*
1907*
1912
1912
1912
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes


Parent County: created 29 February 1912 from Chouteau County
County Seat: Chinook [5]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county from Wikipedia: [6]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places

Indian Reservation

The Fort Belknap Indian Reservation is located primarily in Blaine County, with a smaller portion in Phillips County.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Blaine County, Montana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Montana Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1920 9,057
1930 9,006 −0.6%
1940 9,566 6.2%
1950 8,516 −11.0%
1960 8,091 −5.0%
1970 6,727 −16.9%
1980 6,999 4.0%
1990 6,728 −3.9%
2000 7,009 4.2%
2010 6,491 −7.4%
Source: [1]


For tips on accessing Blaine County, Montana Genealogy census records online, see: Montana Census.

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Montana starting in 1870. For links to Federal census indexes, see the "Montana Census" link above.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Chinook
  • Harlem

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Blaine County, Montana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.

  • Thunderstorms and Tumbleweeds : 1887-1987 East Blaine County. c1989. By Centennial Book Committee (Blaine County, Montana). Visalia, California : Jostens Publishing and Printing. At various libraries(WorldCat).
  • The Unyielding Prairie: Stories of Homesteaders in Northwest Blaine County. c2008. By Karen Jellum and Vernelia Tilleman. Chinook, Montana : Milk River Genealogical Society (Montana). At various libraries(WorldCat).

Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Blaine County

Migration

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to Montana. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Montana Military Records.

Civil War

World War I

World War II

For further information see Montana Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Montana Newspapers Online

Montana Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Blaine County, Montana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

See also United States Obituaries for more about finding United States obituaries.

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Blaine - Probate records.

School Records

Tax Records

Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Blaine County Historical Society
501 Indiana St
Chinook, Montana, 59523

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/mon/blaine/ accessed 11/15/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blaine_County,_Montana accessed 11/15/2016
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 415.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Blaine County, Montana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blaine_County,_Montana, accessed 1 August 2016.