Blakemere, Herefordshire Genealogy
Guide to Blakemere, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Blakemere St Leonard, Herefordshire
|Poor Law Union||Weobley|
|Parish registers: 1662|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1664|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Dean of Hereford|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
BLAKEMERE (St. Leonard), a parish, in the union of Weobley, hundred of Webtree, county of Hereford, 10½ miles (W. by N.) from Hereford. 
The Parish church of St Leonard dates from 1877 and has been designated as a grade II listed building 
See also Blakemere Wikipedia]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this area was part of Weobley registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
The Register Office
St. Owens Street
Phone 01432 260565
Fax 01432 261720
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.
Herefordshire Archives Harold Street Hereford HR1 2QX England Tel: 01432 260750 Fax: 01432 260066 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Website: here
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Blakemere
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288820.
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition, FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that genenerally charge for subscriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 275-278. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 June 2013.