Blanchland, Northumberland Genealogy
Guide to Blanchland, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Hexham|
|Parish registers: 1735|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1770|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Northumberland Record Office|
BLANCHLAND, otherwise Shotley High-Quarter, a chapelry, in theparish of Shotley, union of Hexham, E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland, 10 miles (S. by E.) from Hexham.
St Mary Blanchland was created in 1751 from chapelry in Shotley, Northumberland St Andrew Ecclesiastical Parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/36 Years 1770-February 1876 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records however the images for this parish remain to loaded and await future engineering of the whole collection.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
Blanchland, St Mary: Records of baptisms 1753-1995, marriages 1753-1977, 1980-1990 and burials 1753-1995 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1753-1875 and marriages 1753-1877 for this parish, but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index. Transcripts of baptisms, burials and marriages 1753-1851 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Blanchland (microfiche TN75) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.
FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438896.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848). Date accessed: 06 August 2013.