Blockley, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Blockley, Worcestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England go to Worcestershire go to Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Blockley, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Blockley, Worcestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oswaldslow
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Shipston on Stour
Registration District Shipston on Stour
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1613
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Blockley
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History

BLOCKLEY, a village and a parish in the district of Shipston-on-Stour, and county of Worcester. The village stands in a south-eastern projection of the county, on the Fossé way, adjacent to the Oxford and Worcester railway, 3¼ miles NW of Moreton-in-the-Marsh; and has a station on the railway, a post office under Moreton-in-the-Marsh, a church, a Baptist chapel, a Primitive Methodist chapel, and national and British schools.[1]

For some purposes, Blockley has also been considered a part of Gloucestershire.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Blockley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
Blockley, Worcestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1753 1538-1753 1538-1812 1538-1812
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1754-1938 1754-1938 1813-1980 1813-1980
FHSO 1800-1837


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464210.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed and adapted: 01 October 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 22 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 22 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 5 July 2016.
  6. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 9 May 2014.
  7. Gloucestershire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 April 2014.