Bolam, Northumberland Genealogy
Guide to Bolam, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Andrews Bolam Northumberland
|Hundred||Castle; Morpeth; Tindale|
|Poor Law Union||Castle Ward|
|Registration District||Castle Ward|
|Parish registers: 1661|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1759|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Northumberland Record Office|
BOLAM (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union, and partly in the W. division, of Castle ward, but chiefly in the W. division of Morpeth ward and N. E. division of Tindale ward, N. and S. divisions of Northumberland; comprising the townships of Trewick, Bolam, Bolam-Vicarage, Gallow-Hill, Belsay, Bradford, Harnham, and Shortflatt.
Additional information: Bolam is an ancient parish and includes Bolam Vicarage, Bradford, Bradford near Morpeth, Gallow Hill, Gallowhill, Harnham, Shortflatt, and Trewick.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/37 years 1759-1760, 1769-1835 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records; however images for this parish have not yet loaded and await engineering in future.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
Bolam, St Andrew: Records of baptisms 1662-1957, marriages 1662-1991 and burials 1662-1898 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1661-1812 and marriages 1661-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1662-1812 and banns 1786-1812. Transcripts of baptisms, burials and marriages 1661-1812 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Bolam (microfiche TN76) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.
FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438893.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed: 06 August 2103.