Bolton, Westmorland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bolton, Westmorland)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Westmorland Gotoarrow.png Westmorland Parishes

Guide to Bolton, Westmorland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Bolton, Westmorland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West
County Westmorland
Poor Law Union West Ward
Registration District West Ward
Records begin
Parish registers: 1647
Bishop's Transcripts: 1668
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Westmorland
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Westmorland Record Office

Parish History

BOLTON, achapelry, in the parish of Morland,West ward and union, county of Westmorland,4 miles (N. W. by W.) from Appleby. A meeting-house for Methodists was built in 1818.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bolton, Westmorland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Bolton, Westmorland Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTs 1647-1812 1647-1812 1647-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464191.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Westmorland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 295-302. Date accessed: 16 July 2012.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.