Bonaire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bonaire)
Jump to: navigation, search

CaribbeanGotoarrow.pngNetherlandsGotoarrow.pngNetherlands AntillesGotoarrow.png Bonaire

Bonaire Wiki Topics
Flag of Bonaire.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Bonaire Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Bonaire ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Bonaire is a special municipality of the Netherlands, and is a part of the Caribbean Netherlands, together with Sint Eustatius, and Saba (BES Islands). Before 1910 they were part of the Netherlands Antilles. It was formerly ruled by Spain, The Netherlands, and Great Britain.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Bonaire Research

Links to articles on getting started with Bonaire research.

Bonaire Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Bonaire research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Bonaire Map

Bonaire - Encyclopaedie van Nederlandsch West-Indië-Antilles part 1, left.gif

Jurisdictions


Note: Several smaller towns had existed in the national park, but are now abandoned. They were: Labra, Ishiri, Kokorobi, Jan Doran, Vlijt, Rigot, Porto Spano, and Kunchi.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Caribbean Netherlands," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caribbean_Netherlands, accessed 4 May 2016.