Boothby Pagnell, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Boothby Pagnell, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Boothby Pagnell, Lincolnshire|
St+Andrew Boothby+Pagnell Lincolnshire
|Hundred||Winnibriggs and Threo|
|Poor Law Union||Grantham|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1562|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
BOOTHBY-PAGNELL (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Grantham, wapentake of Winnibrigs and Threo, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 5¼ miles (N. N. W.) from Corby.
Boothby Pagnell St Andrew is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Lincoln. The ecclesiastical parish spelling differs from the civil parish for the village which for local and national government purposes is Boothby Pagnall and appears as such on Ordnance Survey maps.
Although Sir Isaac Newton's uncle William Ayscough, the brother of Hannah Ayscough, was vicar of nearby Burton Coggles, during his time of discovery in 1666-7, Newton spent some time in the summer at the rectory of Boothby Pagnell, which had a considerable orchard. It is unknown whether Newton saw the apple fall at Boothby Pagnell or Woolsthorpe with Stainworth, Lincolnshire.
The vicar was the Trinity College Fellow Humphrey Babington, the brother of Katherine Babington. She was a friend of Hannah Ayscough and the wife of William Clark, the owner of the house at which Newton lodged in Grantham whilst at school.
In his memoirs, Newton noted that he worked on Fluxions (what became differential calculus) at Babington's rectory, and also calculated the area under a hyperbola (involving integral calculus).
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: email@example.com The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Boothby Pagnell Par 1 will identify available images.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Boothby Pagnell
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 302-305. Date accessed: 09 August 2013.