Borge, Nordland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Borge, Nordland, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngNordland County Gotoarrow.pngBorge

Guide to Borge, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Borge clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Borge and Valberg. Borge was separated from Buksnes clerical district in 1748. For earlier records see Buksnes clerical district.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1750-1930.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Borge: 1750-1887-1908-1919

Borge / Borge: 1836-1857, 1861-1875, 1888-1929

Borge / Valberg: 1837-1926

Buksnes: 1704-1748, 1773-1793, 1817-1885

Census Records

  • 1664-1666, 1701 see Buksnes clerical district.
  • Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801, Norge. The 1801 census for Borge clerical district includes the parishes of Borge and Valberg and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet.
  • Folketellinga 1865 for [nr.] 1862 Borge. An index to the 1865 census for Borge is available on microfiche at the Family History Library.
  • Folketellinga 1900 for [nr.] 1862 Borge. An index to the 1900 census for Borge is available on microfiche at the Family History Library.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Krogtoft, Magne and Høynes, Yngvar Dahl, Borge og Valberg bygdebok, Bodø : Utgitt av Borge og Valberg bygdeboknemnd, c1982-. Farm histories with genealogical information on residents including history of the nature and life in Borge and Valberg in Borge clerical district, Nordland county, Norway. Vol. 3 includes an expanded index. FHL 948.451/B5 D2b

A farm name index to volume 3 is found in the following link. File:948.451-B5 D3b V3 - BORGE-Valberg.pdf

Farm Names

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

52 Alstad, 13 Bjørnsand, 25 Borg, 31 Borgfjord indre, 33 Borgfjord ytre, 36 Borgvær, 40 Bø, 41 Bøen, 24 Bøstad, 18 Eggum, 50 Elstad, 9 Eltoft, 22 Evjen, 49 Garnes, 55 Grundstad, 23 Hagevaag, 27 Hanberget, 38 Haukland, 53 Hellosan, 8 Holdal, 41 Høines, 19 Jellevold, 10 Klepstad, 51 Knutstad, 11 Kraaktoft, 42 Kvalnes, 29 Li, 3 Liland, 47 Limstrand, 54 Lyngedal, 30 Løvdal, 15 Mærvold, 21 Nesje, 21 Nesjeøerne, 6 Nykmarken, 7 Ostad, 34 Ramberg, 43 Rekdal, 53 Risjorden, 26 Rystad, 39 Sande, 39 Sandøen, 14 Saupstad, 1 Skjerpen, 32 Sletteng, 5 Slydalen, 45 Smedvik, 16 Sortland, 48 Steiro, 20 Strøm, 12 Tangstad, 35 Torvdal, 17 Unstad, 37 Val, 44 Valle, 28 Vendalsjorden

Probate Records

1673-1879: Probates are found in Lofoten og Versterålen judicial district.

Historical Society

Vestvågøy Historielag

Norway

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names