Borgvattnet parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Borgvattnet parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngJämtland County Gotoarrow.pngBorgvattnet parish


Guide to Borgvattnet parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

In 1781 this parish was created from Hammerdal parish.

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
Borgvattnet
Jurisdictions
Stift add here
Pastorat 1781-1873 Hammerdal, 1873- Stugun
Län 1645-1654 Härnösands län, 1655-1762 Gävleborg, 1762-1810 Västernorrland, 1810-1879 mostly in Jämtland but Borgvattnet itself in Vasternorrland, 1880- Jämtland
Landskap Jämtland
Härad not applicable
Tingslag -1741 Jämtlands domsaga, 1741- Ragunda
Domsaga 1680-1811 Jämtlands, 1812-1878 Norra Jämtland, 1879- Jämtlands norra
Fögderi 1781-1809 Jämtlands fögderi, 1810-1970 Jämtlands norra, 1884-1945 Jämtlands östra, 1971- Östersunds fögderi
Länsmansdistrikt add here
Kronofogdedistrikt add here
Kommun 1863-1951 Borgvattnet, 1952-1973 Stugun, 1974- Ragunda
Militär indelning add here


Place Names

Borgsjön, Tullsjön, Björkvattnet Ramsele, Borgvattnet, Sörviken, Aspnäset, Skyttmon, Ede Hammerdal, Boberg, Selet.


Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Jämtland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Jämtland" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies


References

Jurisdictional information from: Riksarkivet, “Borgvattnet”, at Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). November 2011.

Skatteverket. "Borgvattnet." Förteckning (Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna). March 2011 Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna