Botswana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Botswana)
Jump to: navigation, search

Africa Gotoarrow.png Botswana

Botswana Wiki Topics
Flag of Botswana.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Botswana Background
Local Research Resources


Guide to Botswana ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Botswana is a country in Africa bordered by South Africa, Namibia, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. It was formerly ruled by Great Britain. The official languages are Setswana and English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Botswana Research

Links to articles on getting started with Botswana research.

Botswana Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Botswana research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Botswana Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Botswana. Districts:

Districts of Botswana en.png


Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Botswana.

  • Central District
  • Francistown Town Council
  • Gaborone Town Council
  • Ghanzi District
  • Jwaneng Town Council
  • Kgalagadi District
  • Kgatleng District
  • Kweneng District
  • Lobatse Town Council
  • Northeast District
  • Northwest District
  • Selebi-Pikwe Town Council
  • Southeast District
  • Southern District

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Botswana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Botswana, accessed 4 May 2016.