Bottesford, Lincolnshire Genealogy
|England Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Bottesford, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Bottesford St Peter ad Vincula Lincolnshire
|Poor Law Union||Glanford Brigg|
|Registration District||Glanford Brigg|
|Parish registers: 1603|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Pre-1834 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Stow; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
BOTTESFORD (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Glandford-Brigg, partly in the W., but chiefly in the E., division of the wapentake of Manley, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 7 miles (W.) from Glandford-Brigg. There are places of worship at Ashby and Burringham for Wesleyans, and one at Yaddlethorpe for Primitive Methodists.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Bottesford Par 1 will identify available images.
Search FamilySearch Catalogue Bottesford
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438761.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 309-314. Date accessed: 09 August 2013.