Boultham, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Boultham, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|[[File::Redundant Boultham St Helen Lincolnshire.jpg|200px]]|
:Redundant Boultham St Helen Lincolnshire
|Poor Law Union||Lincoln|
|Parish registers: 1561|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1562|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
BOULTHAM (St. Helen), a parish, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Boothby-Graffo, parts of Kesteven, union and county of Lincoln, 3 miles (S. W. by S.) from Lincoln. The parish includes the west side of the City of Lincoln including Lincoln University, Hartsholme and Swanpool. St Helen is now redundant.
The 13th century church of St Helen was rebuilt in 1864 and a churchyard dedicated in 1868 and was replaced by Holy Cross as the parish church in 1940 as the church was too small to serve the needs of the parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: email@example.com The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Boultham Par 1 will identify available images.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Boultham
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438756.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 314-317. Date accessed: 09 August 2013.