Bowling Green, Surrey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bowling Green, Surrey)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Parishes

Guide to Bowling Green, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bowling Green, Surrey
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Effingham
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Epsom
Registration District Epsom
Records begin
Parish registers: 1642
Bishop's Transcripts: 1587
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Parish History

BOWLING-GREEN, an extra-parochial tract in Guilford borough, Surrey. Guildford, mun. bor. and co. town, W. Surrey, on river Wey, 30 miles SW. of London by rail -- bor. (partly in Shalford and Stohe pars.), 535 ac. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is {{{1}}}.


Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[2]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

Surrey