Boyd County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Boyd County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nebraska
Boyd County


Boyd County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Boyd County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 20, 1891
County Seat Butte
Courthouse
px
Address Boyd County Courthouse
401 Thayer Street
Butte, NE 68722
Phone: 402-775-2391
County Website


Boyd County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Boyd County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1891 1900 1891 1891

County Courthouse


County Clerk has divorce, land, military, and naturalization records. Clerk District Court has court records. Clerk County Court has probate records. [2]

History

Parent County

1891 Boyd County was created 20 March 1891 from Holt County. County seat: Butte [3]

Description

Boyd County is in Nebraska's Outback region. The county was named for James E. Boyd.[4]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places [5]

Villages
  • Anoka
  • Bristow
  • Butte
  • Gross
  • Lynch
  • Monowi
  • Naper
  • Spencer
Townships
  • Basin
  • Bristow
  • Bush
  • Butte
  • Lynch
  • McCulley
  • Morton
  • Mullen
  • Spencer
Ghost towns
  • Baker
  • Doty
  • Mankato
  • Rosedale

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NEGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1890 695
1900 7,332 955.0%
1910 8,826 20.4%
1920 8,243 −6.6%
1930 7,169 −13.0%
1940 6,060 −15.5%
1950 4,911 −19.0%
1960 4,513 −8.1%
1970 3,752 −16.9%
1980 3,331 −11.2%
1990 2,835 −14.9%
2000 2,438 −14.0%
2010 2,099 −13.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Boyd County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Boyd County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Boyd - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Death Records

Boyd County, NE Online Death Records

Societies and Libraries

County, Township and City Societies

  • Boyd County Historical Society
    P.O. Box 317
    Lynch, NE 68746-0317

Libraries

  • Davies Memorial Library
    Address: 612 Thayer St
    P.O. Box 276
    Butte, NE 68722
    Phone: 402-775-2325
  • Lynch Public Library
    423 W Hoffman
    P.O. Box 127
    Lynch, NE 68746
    Phone: 402-569-3491
  • Spencer Township Library
    110 W Main St
    P.O. Box 189
    Spencer, NE 68777
    Phone: 402-589-1131

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites


References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Boyd County, Nebraska page 428, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boyd_County,_Nebraska accessed 09/29/2016
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Boyd County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boyd_County,_Nebraska, accessed 29 July 2016.