Brackenfield, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Brackenfield, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Brackenfield Holy Trinity Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Chesterfield|
|Parish registers: 1845|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1855|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
BRACKENFIELD, an ecclesiastical district, in the parish of Morton, union of Chesterfield, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 4 miles (N. W.) from Alfreton. There is a place of worship for Primitive Methodists. 
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241297.
Brackenfield parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials haveonline indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Brackenfield Holy Trinity (1845) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| NONE
Brackenfield Holy Trinity originated as a chapel to Morton, Derbyshire parish but became a parish in 1844. The parish includes the hamlet of Wooley.
Derbyshire Record Office reference D 3296 has deposited registers Bap 1845-1954 Mar 1845-1978, 1981-1991Burials 1857-1929 Banns 1845-1954
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Primitive Methodists
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Brackenfield on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 323-326. Date accessed: 26 April 2013.